Full Moon in Gemini 2012

Lunar Eclipse

Wednesday, 28 November, 2012 ~ 6.46am PST (Pacific Standard Time)
Wednesday, 28 November, 2012 ~ 2.46pm GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
Wednesday, 28 November, 2012 ~ 2.46pm UT (Universal Time)
Thursday, 29 November, 2012 ~ 12.46am EST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
(NSW, TAS & VIC 1.46am)

The full moon in Gemini is also the perfect moon to think outside the box and be open-minded by questioning any fixed ideas that we may have. With ideas and communication at the heart of this moon it is also worth being mindful of others by listening to what they have to say.

Read more…

Advertisements
Posted in Moon Archive | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Full Moon in Pisces 2012

Blue Moon

Friday, 31 August, 2012 ~ 6.59am PDT (Pacific Daylight Time)
Friday, 31 August, 2012 ~ 1.59pm GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
Friday, 31 August, 2012 ~ 1.59pm UT (Universal Time)
Friday, 31 August, 2012 ~ 11.59pm EST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)

The full moon in Pisces is the full moon to open yourself up to the fact all things are interconnected and to consider the part we play within this interconnectedness and our role in humanity’s collective transition toward harmony.

Read more…

Posted in Moon Archive | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Full Moon in Aquarius 2012

Wednesday, 1 August, 2012 ~ 8.28pm PDT (Pacific Daylight Time)
Thursday, 2 August, 2012 ~ 3.28am GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
Thursday, 2 August, 2012 ~ 3.28am UT (Universal Time)
Thursday, 2 August, 2012 ~ 1.28pm AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)

Aquarius, the water bearer, is humanitarian in nature and the full moon in Aquarius is about shifting focus from ourselves and our individual egos to others and to the wider world. This full moon is a good time to think about our connection with the world and how we may be able to contribute to making the world a better place. We each have the power to affect positive change in a global sense. Aquarius rules this global call for change.

Read more…

Posted in Moon Archive | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Full Moon in Libra 2012

Friday, 6 April, 2012 ~ 12.19pm PST (Pacific Standard Time)
Friday, 6 April, 2012 ~ 7.19pm GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
Friday, 6 April, 2012 ~ 7.19pm UT (Universal Time)
Saturday, 7 April, 2012 ~ 5.19am AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)

This is a Moon to connect, to listen attentively, with an open mind and without judgement. To talk less and listen more. Actually, to not just listen, but to really ‘hear’ what another wants to say. It is a perfect time to work out relational problems and build bridges where needed.

Read more…

Posted in Moon Archive | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Tarosophy Tarot Convention 2012

20-21 October 2012
Hilton Garden Inn, Dallas USA

Are you ready to see the future of Tarot and discover its most ancient mysteries?

The Tarosophy TarotCon 2012 promises to be a major Tarot event with some of the world’s leading speakers, teachers, presenters, artists and authors of Tarot. Guest M.C. Dan Donche and after dinner speaker James Wells are joined by a star-studded line-up of presenters including Barbara Moore, Bob O’ Neill, Mary K. Greer, Carrie Paris, Ellen Lorenzi-Prince, Robert M. Place and Marcus Katz. There will also be additional evening Tarot workshops by Enrique Enriquez, Katrina Wynne, Paul Nagy, Dr. Art Rosengarten, Jaymi Elford, Mike Hernandez and Beth Sellenon.

If that isn’t enough enticement another major Tarot research discovery will also be announced… what could it be? Where were you when the world of Tarot changed?

Read more…

Posted in Tarot News | Leave a comment

Tarot Symbolism: The Dog – Truly Man’s Best Friend

For personal reasons I wanted to explore the symbolism of the Dog in Tarot for my first Tarot Symbolism post. Having recently lost my own loyal protector it seems apt. Especially as the day before I had to say my goodbyes to my sweetheart the 10 of Pentacles appeared in a reading that I did for myself on the subject and I was immediately drawn to the image of the child reaching out to touch the dog. My youngest child had not had a chance to say her goodbyes to our beloved pet and I knew this would upset her dearly, which it did, yet the alternative of her saying goodbye at the vets the day of the event did not seem like a wise alternative. That little corner of the 10 of Pentacles had tugged at my heart.

So, here I am once again focused on the bottom right corner of the 10 of Pentacles. What can be found here? My first thoughts are of the qualities that both a dog and a young child share… devotion, trust, playfulness, an openness to life and new experiences. As well as that they both have strong instinctual natures. In the 10 of Pentacles two adults are caught up in their own affairs, blind to what is happening around them. The old man in front of the archway with his magical coat may very well be a blessing in disguise, but they do not notice him. The dogs are instinctually drawn to him, and the child to the dog. The dogs and child are open to the magic around them, they are acting instinctively, they are engaged.

Again, in the Fool card I see the dog symbolising our instinctual nature. It is the voice of reason, of those inner gut feelings that can warn of danger. It is our own in-built protection mechanism. Yet although dogs are generally domesticated creatures, they are still beasts within, once running in the wild. They are capable of defending their territory with whatever means is necessary. The Fool is obeying his wild nature, he does not deny his urges. He knows his inner dog is there to protect him, so long as he listens.

In The Moon we see the beast in all its glory. This is the only Major Arcana card where there are no people depicted, the energy is all animal. The dog and the wolf are our id animal natures. They are not afraid to display their lunacy as they are roused to howl at the moon. One full moon some years back I actually found myself literally doing this. I was in such a state of despair. It came from nowhere and felt so good. I allowed it to come up and be released. In The Moon the wild unconscious comes to the surface. Unconscious energy needs to be released. It may take its time but it will come, from a dream, from an inner knowing.

A dog can symbolise many things however looking at these three cards it is the theme of primitive instinctual impulses and desires that emerges strongly for me. The dog is our id, it is our unconscious, our intuition. I know that for me now personally, whenever I view these cards and am drawn to our canine friend, that it will be a prompt for me to dig deep and listen to my gut, to my inner voice. To not ignore raw impulses that well up from within. I may have lost my dearly departed buddy but my inner four-legged friend will always be there. Truly ‘man’s best friend’.

Stella Luna © 2012 The Tarot Reader. All rights reserved.

Images from the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck used with permission of US Games Systems, Inc., Stamford, CT, USA. © Copyright by US Games Systems, Inc.

Posted in Tarot Symbolism | 3 Comments

Full Moon in Virgo 2012

Thursday, 8 March, 2012 ~ 1.40am PST (Pacific Standard Time)
Thursday, 8 March, 2012 ~ 9.40am GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
Thursday, 8 March, 2012 ~ 9.40am UT (Universal Time)
Thursday, 8 March, 2012 ~ 7.40pm EST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
(NSW, TAS & VIC 8.40pm EDT)

The symbol for Virgo, the Virgin, represents modesty, integrity and industriousness.
It also stands for purity of purpose, sowing the seeds of knowledge and life skills which can be harvested – just like her sheaf of wheat – in order to nourish ourselves and others.

Read more…

Posted in Moon Archive | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment